30 Things About Me You Probably Don’t Know!

Now that I’ve wrapped up my 9-part series on facing our fears and moving forward — and hinted at the next series as potentially being entitled “Preventing Procrastination and Pursuing Purpose” … I thought it would be fun to do a post listing 30 random things about me you probably don’t know (unless you’re family or close friends!)

Hi – I’m K’Lee!

SO … I originally did this in another blog, but I thought this might be fun for people reading and following this blog (lots of links to check out other posts, pics, etc.), so here goes {gulp} …

  1. I am 55 years old and blessed to be alive, because I almost died in 1985 before my 27th birthday!
  2. I grew up in Gilford, New Hampshire.
  3. I lived within walking distance of Lake Winnipesaukee.
  4. I climbed Mt. Washington – three times! (…in my MUCH younger, healthier days!)
  5. I also rode on the Mt. Washington – the cruise ship – a few times.
  6. I have been married three times:  a few months to my son’s abusive father, nearly 20 years to my three daughters’ father – and just over seven years to the love of my life, Dave.
  7. Dave and I met through online dating about 10 1/2 years ago; after a few months of dating, I moved from New Hampshire up to Maine.
  8. Dave and I have seven “fur babies” –  one hound mix puppy, one Maine coon cat, and five feral kittens who showed up in our back yard in the fall of 2009 – and we never could part with any of them!
  9. I am a lifelong learner – still taking courses and pursuing degrees!
  10. I have three degrees, earned in 1980, 2007, and 2008.
  11. My first degree was a B.A. degree in Psychology, from Nyack College, Nyack, New York, in 1980.
  12. My second degree was an A.A.S. degree in Education, in a speech therapy concentration (SLPA), from KVCC in Fairfield, Maine, in 2007.
  13. My third degree was an M.Ed. in Instructional Technology, from AIU Online, in 2008.
  14. I am currently in the dissertation phase of my fully online Ed.D. degree in a dual concentration of Educational Technology and E-Learning, at Northcentral University; prospective graduation date is 2015.
  15. I have unfortunately lost both of my parents to cancer; my Dad in 2002 to lymphoma and my Mom in 2011 to lung cancer, after surviving (or so we thought) breast cancer. I also lost my 12 1/2 y.o. canine companion, Kita (black lab), on 12-18-2012.
  16. My adult kids, ages 23 to 31,  all either attended college, or graduated from college, and are involved in careers (proud Mom here, four times over!)
  17. My youngest daughter got married two years ago, and last year had her first child – my first grandbaby- my beautiful granddaughter Chloe Lyvia!
  18. My daughters live in New Hampshire.
  19. My son lives in New Mexico, where he also attended college for a business degree.
  20. My middle daughter is a nurse (RN); she graduated in May 2010 and passed the NCLEX first time through the next month. She is also engaged, due to get married in November.
  21. My youngest daughter graduated with an associate degree for dietetic technician.
  22. My oldest daughter has four degrees, including two associate degrees, a bachelor’s degree, and a master’s degree in organic dairy nutrition.
  23. In my “spare” time (yeah, right), I love to quilt, sew, and do various crafts.
  24. In addition to freelance writing, I run a home-based business called K’Lee’s Kreations.
  25. I have been freelancing “officially” for over five years and now have over 2,000 published articles online and have written one book so far, Fatherly Reflections. I’ve also authored/co-authored about a dozen courses.
  26. I grew up within about a half hour of Loudon, NH – home of the NH Motor Speedway (NHMS) – but wasn’t a NASCAR fan at the time!
  27. I am NOW a NASCAR fan – since I met Dave – and went to my first race in September 2012!
  28. I was much more familiar with Motorcycle Weekend/Week, than NASCAR, all the years I lived in NH.
  29. My hair started turning gray (white/silver) at about age 29 – so yeah, I’ve been coloring it for all this time, but now that I’m a grandmother, I’m slowly letting it go to its natural color.
  30. I was a traveling speech therapist for about a year – averaging about 350 miles/week – until I “came home” to work in early 2008.

Wow, I didn’t think I could come up with 30 random things – but I did, and now I challenge OTHER bloggers to do likewise!

Hubby Dave and Desi, our puppy, getting her morning hug and puppy kisses before “Papa” goes to work!

 

So did any of these 30 things shock you? Did you know about some/most of these things?

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “30 Things About Me You Probably Don’t Know!

  1. Hi K’Lee! I’m following you from the UBC from California, nice to meet you and your blog. We have a few things in common, Yes, I’ve climbed Mt. Washington, as I spent my college years in Boston and have been to your neck of the woods a few times. I miss New England! Looking forward to seeing more from you!

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: